Nothing's On Fire…

….It's Just Karen in the Kitchen

Stuffed Peppers – for the very first time!

I have never eaten, let alone made, stuffed peppers.  But the recipe out of the cookbook Deni Pressure Cooking Cookbook  sounded pretty good, and pretty easy, so I decided to make them for dinner tonight.

The recipe called for a pound of ground beef, but I used ground chicken instead.  Other ingredients were bread crumbs, salt, pepper, an egg.  It was kinda like a mini-meatloaf inside of a green pepper.  I’m assuming that’s what they’re supposed to be like?   The pepper turned out tender and was done just right.  The instructions said 10-12 minutes at high pressure.  Being a little paranoid about chicken “doneness” I set it for 15 minutes instead.  The hubby said they were pretty good, but to “spice” them up next time we should try using  the recipe for Rachel Ray’s Chicken Parm Meatballs (which we’ve made before and they ARE yummy!) and stuff red peppers with that.  Hmmm…maybe have to give that a try.

The only liquid used in the recipe was a can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato paste….and so today I had my first experience with food burning on the bottom of the pot.  However, it cleaned up pretty easy, which was a huge relief.  I remember spending quite a bit of time trying to chisel charred bits of food off of my stove-top pressure cooker.

Here’s my photo…of the stuffed peppers, of course, not the crap burnt on the bottom of the pot.  😉

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

