Nothing's On Fire…

….It's Just Karen in the Kitchen

Being Thrifty – Hearty Tomato Rice Soup

Since I made a bunch of brown rice a few nights ago to go with the Garlic-Lime Chicken, I had a container full of it in the fridge that I didn’t want to go to waste, and I knew I wanted to make a soup.  I found a recipe online for Stuffed Pepper Soup, but I added my own spin to it to come up with something on my own using up ingredients I had on hand that needed to be eaten.  The result was a excellent hearty soup, and the best part was that it didn’t require any trip to the grocery store!

Here’s my recipe for Hearty Tomato Rice Soup!

1 lb package of ground chicken

olive oil

1 chopped onion

1 diced green pepper

1 diced red pepper

2 roma tomatoes

2 stalks of celery, diced

2-3 garlic cloves, minced

1 14.5 oz can chicken broth

2 cups chicken boullion/stock

1 29 oz can diced tomatoes (don’t drain)

1 small can tomato sauce

1 small can tomato paste

Dried Basil

Dried Oregano

Dried Parsley

Salt and Pepper to taste

2 cups cooked brown rice

In a large stock pot, brown the  chicken until done.  Add all of the vegetables and cook for about 5 minutes.  Add the liquids, tomatoes, sauce, paste.  Add seasonings to your liking (I probably used about 1/2 tsp to 1 tsp of them).  Bring to a boil and let simmer for at least 15 minutes (I baked some biscuits during this time).  During the last 5 minutes, add the rice.  Heat through and serve.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

